#### DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD

## LUNCHEON

MAY 18, 2022



# THANK YOU TO OUR PRESENTING SPONSOR





Blue Cross Blue Shield Blue Care Network of Michigan

Nonprofit corporations and independent licensees of the Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association

#### SUPPORTING SPONSOR







### **LUNCH SPONSORS**





### **DECOR SPONSORS**





#### AGENDA

# DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD LUNCHEON

MAY 18, 2022

11:00 AM	Registration		
11:40 PM	Welcome and Opening Remarks		
	Warren Call, President and CEO, Traverse Connect		
11:45 PM	Sponsor Remarks		
	Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan		
	Munson Healthcare		
12:00 PM	Distinguished Service  Award Presentation		
	Brend McLellan, Director of Investor Engagement, Traverse Connect		
	Jan Warren, 2020 Distinguished Service Award Recipient		
	Jeanne, Marina, and Alex Ascione, acceptance on behalf of Michael A. Ascione, 2021 Distinguished Service Award honoree		
12:30 PM	Closing		
	Warren Call, President and CEO, Traverse Connect		
12:40 PM	Networking		

**Adjourned** 

1:00 PM

### 2021

## DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD HONOREE MICHAEL A. ASCIONE

#### MICHAEL A. ASCIONE

Michael A. Ascione, the former President and CEO of American Waste, was selected by the Traverse Connect Board of Directors to receive the Distinguished Service Award. The DSA is among the region's oldest and most prestigious civic awards, presented annually since 1929.

Michael Ascione graduated from Kalkaska High School and attended Northwestern Michigan College. Ascione's career began at Northern A-1, founded by his father, Edward Ascione, Sr., just five years after relocating his young family to



northern Michigan from the Detroit area. After founding American Waste, Mike served as Co-President with his brother, Edward, Jr., for nearly 20 years. Throughout his career, Mike remained committed to the principle of doing good while doing what was good for business. Mike served the Grand Traverse Region's nonprofit and business communities by holding positions on the boards of Traverse Connect, Kalkaska Area Chamber of Commerce, Kalkaska Downtown Development Authority, Northern Michigan DeColores Ministries, Kalkaska Area Interfaith Resources, The Father Fred Foundation, Traverse Bay Economic Development Corporation, and Northwestern Michigan College Foundation. Mike held committee positions with Big Brothers Big Sisters of Northern Michigan, receiving the "Big Defender" award with his wife Jeanne in 2019. Mike gave much of his time to the Grand Traverse Area Catholic Schools, volunteering as Co-Chair of the most recent capital campaign to build the new Immaculate Conception Elementary School.

Michael A. Ascione passed unexpectedly in November 2020.

# PAST DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD RECIPIENTS

2020	Jan Warren	1974	Jerry McCarthy
2019	Steve H. Perdue	1973	Vojin Baic
2018	Tony Anderson	1972	Frank L. Stulen
2017	Elaine Wood	1971	Charles E. Moorman
2016	Herb Lemcool	1970	Bob D. Hilty
2015	Chuck Judson	1969	Arthur S. Huey
2014	Susie Janis	1968	Frank R. Purvis
2013	Ross & Brenda Biederman	1967	Jackson H. Bensley
2012	Terry Berden	1966	A. R. Jacobs
2011	Elnora Milliken	1965	James A. Pound
2010	Arlene & Wes Nelson	1964	Vincent Fochtman
2009	Dr. John Spencer	1963	Dr. Glenn E. Loomis
2008	Chris MacInnes	1962	Dr. Joseph E. Maddy
2007	Bruce Rogers	1961	Mrs. Genevieve (Steiger)
2006	Dr. Arnie Sarya	1501	Richardson
2005	Ted Okerstrom	1960	James J. Beckett
2003	Dr. Carl and Sally Benner	1959	Lars Hockstad
2004	Keith Charters	1959	C. A. Kidder
2002	Hal Van Sumeren	1957	George A. Gilbert
2001	Larry Hardy	1956	G. W. Arnold
2000	John Bay	1955	Dr. Mark F. Osterlin
1999	Robert Andrews	1954	Gerald Oleson
1998	Shirley Okerstrom	1953	Les Beiderman
1997	Patrick J. Wilson	1952	H. W. Heidbreder
1996	Laurence P. Skendzel MD	1951	George Eikey
1995	Gretchen Votruba	1950	G. W. Power
1994	Dr. Ken & Lou Ann Taylor	1949	E. B. Isaacsen
1993	James J. Beckett	1948	Douglas E. Linder
1992	Dr. Ted Cline	1947	Jay P. Smith
1991	Mary Jean Brick	1946	Robert B. Murchie
1990	Father Edwin Frederick	1945	Mrs. Julius Beers
1989	Helen Osterlin	1944	W. Reed Chapin
1988	K. Ross Childs	1943	Ralph Wynkoop
1987	Art Schmuckal	1942	Arnell Engstrom
1986	Richard P. Smith	1941	Ben Keonig
1985	Carol J. Hale	1940	Leo Kalahar
1984	Earl E. Glaesmer	1939	Parm C. Gilbert
1983	George A. McManus, Jr.	1938	Edward H. Taylor
1982	William K. Kurtz	1937	Hugh Johnston
1981	Dale A. Wares	1936	W. J. Hobbs
1980	David E. Pearce	1935	M. J. MacIntosh
1979	John W. Dieckman	1934	Mrs. A.W. Peck
1978	John R. Anderson	1933	Dr. E.L. Thirlby
1977	Lou Sherry Ecarius	1932	Con Foster
1976	Roy & Ellen Brigman	1931	H.D. Gage
1975	Joseph Groszek	1930	Riley Sweers
1375	Juseph Gluszek	1930	
		1323	R. Floyd Clinch

